Writer’s Block

A good friend of mine once told me that when you have nothing to write about, write about it.

So… here goes nothing! No pun intended.

Jump right in. Don’t be afraid. Improvise! It’s all a method of making yourself think, right? I mean, if I had no money, I wouldn’t just sit around and do nothing about it. I’d go out and find some sort of job to fix the problem. Would I know where or when I would get one? Nope. But I would still have to get out there and give it a shot. Here’s to the same principle!

BANG. I just hit the wall again. That wall which keeps rebuilding itself around me on nights like tonight. Hello, Writer’s Block. We meet again… and again… and again. Give me a break.

Writing on Writer’s Block isn’t exactly what I had in mind. But then again, I didn’t really have anything in mind. I guess that’s all part of writing… or not writing. Anyway, I’m giving it a solid attempt.

Even in a brave attempt to defeat Writer’s Block and to get those creative juices flowing again, the one atomic-bomb-like feature of time spent in composition is that of an unrelated and random realization. Look at the time! It is nearly 2:00 AM. What creative juices can flow at such an hour? This is when the author slips into a coma-like state of writing where only puns, stale humor and occasional varied sentence structure can keep things alive.

So, it’s 2:00 AM and here I sit with nothing on my mind except the fact that I can’t come up with anything to write about except the fact that I just wrote about the fact that I didn’t think I had anything I thought I couldn’t write about.

Looks like I solved my own problem… right? Write.

Drop a Note

