Redeeming the Time

Sometimes, getting distracted and being busy is inevitable. What is sad is when in life you get distracted from that which really matters, you tend to forget. You start to think about other things. You get so caught up in life that you can’t see the important moments as they fly by.

Time teaches us a lesson: we don’t get much of it. Life circumstances and situations seem to have a funny way of convoluting that lesson’s application. Life throws education, work, family and friends at us. With so little time, you think we would value what we’ve got right here in the moment. But sometimes, asking a teacher for an extension on a due date or requesting a day off from work adds to the pressure of enjoying a moment just as much as it gives additional time. Trust me, it’s no small task to perform this kind of life balancing act.

What if there was no such thing as time? Take a moment and think on that. Really, take a minute and grasp the thought.

Hard, isn’t it?

Time is so essential, yet so elusive. We have no real grasp on it. We do not own it. We learn to do what is called “time management” but we are not fully in control of time. It is above our ability to own or control something that has not been created by us. Yet I manage my time. And if I do it wisely, I feel as if I’ve made it in the world. I know how to handle my life in its moment-by-moment array of events. Working, going to school, spending time with family, hanging out with friends, getting my down time, exercising, eating, sleeping, showering, I’ve got it all clocked. Easy enough, right?

Ah, but I am not on this planet to accomplish these things, nor manage my time spent doing them. Granted, life on earth would mean so little without these things, but my purpose for time, or maybe time’s purpose for me… means so much more to my existence.

I was created to glorify God – the creator of the world, of time itself, my own personal Creator. The same all-knowing, perfect, holy, Creator-God who made time, made me – a management tool of His time. The privileges He gives me of managing this time are many – I get to go to school, spend time with family, hang out with friends, eat, sleep, walk, talk, smile, live. But His plan in creating me for His glory calls me to live according to higher standards than those I define as a human.

Yes, I said standards. Not rules. The Christian does not live by some spiritual “rule book” to follow Christ as He commanded. Obedience is not complicated. Can it be difficult? Yes. No question about it. But if I act as though I have no connection to the Lord God, I act as though He does not own my heart. I act as the unsaved. I act God-less. I am my own god. I live for me. I worship myself in time that is not my own.

We are bearers of God’s time. That is a greater privilege than most of us realize. We must obey God and use wisely the time He has allowed us to have. As a Christian, I am called to proclaim the name of Christ to the world. I need to tell my family, friends, coworkers, and even complete strangers about what Christ has done for them.

Friends, this time we have been given will end. One day, it will not exist. We cannot grasp the thought, but the One who created time can. He created this world, created us. And He allowed His son – Jesus Christ – to come to this earth with us to die for the very thing that keeps us from knowing Him personally – our sin.

This sin – the wrong doings in our lives – is ours to keep if we desire to spend an eternity apart from the Creator of goodness and mercy – the One whose very being is goodness, mercy, and love. The sin is ours to keep if we desire an infinite life in the literal, painful, timeless Hell. The choice is clear. The options are not simply Heaven or Hell. The options are God or You. The Lord God will save you from this sin. He is loving enough to accept you into His family and erase the wrong on your life account. He can see you as clean, redeemed, saved, ready for Heaven with Him. But He is also just enough to punish you for making the selfish choice of ignoring the time He has given you to accept Him into your heart. He makes the consequence clear, folks.

Time is such a small factor on the grand scale of life. Yet time is running out. My merciful God can save you immediately if you will turn to Christ. I do not know the amount of days God has given me to proclaim this message, and I do not know how long you have to make this decision. All I am equipped to know is the importance of this message. I have accepted this gift God offers to me. I shall live with Him in Heaven someday when time no longer exists.

Will you?

Ephesians 5:15-16
Be very careful, then, how you live-not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.

Proverbs 19:21
Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.

Matthew 6:33
But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Romans 10:9,10
 If you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Jesus from the dead, you shall be saved; for with the heart man believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting  in salvation.

Drop a Note

