A Much-Needed Long Night

If eyes had the ability to burn holes into anything they looked upon, my ceiling would be vaporized into  small piles of black ashes surrounding a 5-foot 2-inch tall body below.  Not to mention I might have caused the tin roof to melt…
On the flip side, I can stargaze from the comfort of my bed now! Though I regret not having a backup plan for the rainy season.  Ha, maybe this burning ability of the eye is one to miss.
If only.
If those lonely, dark hours of the night were spent utilizing some sort of Superman-like abilities, I might just have a reason to stay awake and exhaust myself.
But alas, I see a solid piece of painted plywood, white and as intact as ever. Below me is a bed that seems like a cloud after a nine-hour day at work. But tonight, I think the concrete floor of my garage could easily have some competition.
If you’ve ever had one of those nights when you simply cannot fall asleep, you know what it’s like.
This is one of those nights.
Perhaps an extensive phone chat with someone and a lap or two up and down the stairs would prove effective against this sleepless situation. It would certainly make up for my lack of hole-burning vision. But let’s face it, when it’s 3 a.m. and your method of transportation is a pair of metal crutches, the theory doesn’t hold up all that well.
So maybe there’s a reason I’m awake. Maybe there’s a friend somewhere I worry about. Maybe there’s a big final exam on the horizon. Maybe there’s a sea of emotions flooding my heart and mind. Maybe, just maybe, there’s a very big decision I’m soon going to be forced to make.
Then again, maybe I just haven’t taken the time to place it all at the feet of my loving Lord. And suddenly a familiar song begins to play in my head…
“…all because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.”
Ah, what a friend we have in Jesus!
You know, I may be a tired, emotional wreck of a half-crippled, 20-year-old girl tonight… but I know that there has never been a load too heavy for me to carry to the feet of God and leave it there for Him to take care of. And by God’s grace alone, I always have that ability.
Praise the Lord for long nights. Sometimes you just need them.
Drop a Note

A Much-Needed Long Night

If eyes had the ability to burn holes into anything they looked upon, my ceiling would be vaporized into  small piles of black ashes surrounding a 5-foot 2-inch tall body below.  Not to mention I might have caused the tin roof to melt…
On the flip side, I can stargaze from the comfort of my bed now! Though I regret not having a backup plan for the rainy season.  Ha, maybe this burning ability of the eye is one to miss.
If only.
If those lonely, dark hours of the night were spent utilizing some sort of Superman-like abilities, I might just have a reason to stay awake and exhaust myself.
But alas, I see a solid piece of painted plywood, white and as intact as ever. Below me is a bed that seems like a cloud after a nine-hour day at work. But tonight, I think the concrete floor of my garage could easily have some competition.
If you’ve ever had one of those nights when you simply cannot fall asleep, you know what it’s like.
This is one of those nights.
Perhaps an extensive phone chat with someone and a lap or two up and down the stairs would prove effective against this sleepless situation. It would certainly make up for my lack of hole-burning vision. But let’s face it, when it’s 3 a.m. and your method of transportation is a pair of metal crutches, the theory doesn’t hold up all that well.
So maybe there’s a reason I’m awake. Maybe there’s a friend somewhere I worry about. Maybe there’s a big final exam on the horizon. Maybe there’s a sea of emotions flooding my heart and mind. Maybe, just maybe, there’s a very big decision I’m soon going to be forced to make.
Then again, maybe I just haven’t taken the time to place it all at the feet of my loving Lord. And suddenly a familiar song begins to play in my head…
“…all because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.”
Ah, what a friend we have in Jesus!
You know, I may be a tired, emotional wreck of a half-crippled, 20-year-old girl tonight… but I know that there has never been a load too heavy for me to carry to the feet of God and leave it there for Him to take care of. And by God’s grace alone, I always have that ability.
Praise the Lord for long nights. Sometimes you just need them.

Drop a Note

