With Glowing Hearts

A maple leaf flag, a rogue moose, a friendly conversation ending with “Eh?” and endless opportunities to serve the Lord. This is Canada. Great, great Canada. I will be entering this great country  in only a few short weeks. I am on a team of dedicated servants of the Lord to this beautiful land. Our ministry centers around a program for children in Canadian communities. Several weeks in August will be spent getting to know our friends from the other side of the river. I can’t wait! Our program – Back Yard Bible Time – begins on August 7, 2012.

I was born in a hospital that sits on the border.  I’m practically Canadian myself. Going into this country to serve the Lord feels like a cross between a missions trip and a return visit to my second home. I really can’t speak highly enough of Canada. I love it.

My service to the Lord is taking me across the river and into a sister country. It feels small in comparison to some friends of mine who are literally on the other side of the world. Isn’t their service greater than mine? I’m only jumping over a nearby river, right? They jumped oceans. No, the work of the Lord knows no distance. Being used of the Lord can take a person anywhere in the world. He might take you to far-away places like Australia or Saipan. He might keep you close to home in places like Fort Frances, Ontario. Either way, He brought you there through His perfect plan. Even if this job feels small, it’s not. It is no small thing to be walking alongside the Lord of all creation. His work is so much bigger than life! I am truly blessed to have a God who allows me to be one small part of a giant plan for His people.

It is my prayer that the Lord will be glorified through my life in these next few weeks as I share His glorious gospel. Please be in prayer that God would open the hearts and minds of children and families in Canada.

O Canada!
Our home and native land!
True patriot love in all thy sons command.
With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
The True North strong and free!
From far and wide,
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.
God keep our land glorious and free!
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

– The National Anthem of Canada

Drop a Note

