The third wheel.

Have you ever been the third person in a group? Ever walked down the sidewalk and have to take up the rear so the other two can go ahead? Notice how awkward it feels when those two other people are actually dating, or worse, they really like each other (and it shows… in EVERYTHING)? There they are — Mr. & Miss Perfect… and you. That loyal tagalong. That old friend. Wheel #3.

Hello, third wheelers. Welcome to the place where you’re understood. Have a read…

I’m kind of going through this third wheel business. But not up close. No, this one is very spread out. I’m like a long-distance third wheel. Or something. Anyway…

I know a couple that would probably put any other couple to shame. They didn’t meet in a normal way. They didn’t base anything on emotion. They didn’t even spend that much time together before things just… worked. I don’t even know if I should call them a couple. But… yeah, these two wheels are my friends. Good friends. One being slightly closer to me than the other. And my issue, like the rest of us, is that feeling I get that causes us all to say (usually inwardly) “I thought was your best friend!” when the couple decides to spend most of their time talking to each other, and less of that #1 wheel’s time talking to me… #3. And then I realize how selfish I am. And how natural something like this is.

Here’s what I want y’all to know:

I like being the third wheel. So should you! Don’t worry, it’s naturally awkward to be the one who knows that couple, yet stands on the sidelines and cheers them on while secretly punching your selfishness into a pulp on the inside (fighting your flesh is a good thing). For those of us watching friends date, those of us wishing the sidewalk was big enough to share, those of us thinking our best friend isn’t our best friend anymore… wake up, see truth! Love it! We get the opportunity to grow through this. We get to see things happen in a light that nobody else gets to see it through. We’re here for a reason. Keep that couple close to your heart and in your prayers. And don’t ever  forget that if the love of Christ is being lived out between all three of you, there’s absolutely nothing to worry about. You will all be as close as ever.

Matthew 18:20
For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8
Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away.

One thought on “The third wheel.

Drop a Note

