Recipe Corner: French Silk Pie

On a rare occasion I will stumble across a recipe that I absolutely love, and so I’ll blog about it. It’s been a VERY long time since I have shared anything with the blogosphere over my love of good food. But today, it’s roaring back to life with one of the most delectable (and easy-to-make!) desserts known to man: the French Silk Pie. And I must take a moment to thank my dear mother for the original recipe for this! She’s an amazing cook.

INGREDIENTS:

For the crust:

I make the most of my local grocery store’s baking aisle and buy a pre-made graham cracker crust. Just as good as the homemade version, only far less work. I told you this was easy!

For the filling:

1.5 Sticks of butter, soft
1 Cup Sugar
3/4 Cup Cocoa Powder
3 Eggs (at room temperature)
3 Lindt Lindor Truffles (I used 2 caramel and 1 dark chocolate), melted
1.5 Cups Whipped Cream

DIRECTIONS:

Note: I use a KitchenAid mixer with paddle attachment for this, but my mother has also used a food processor. I have even done it by hand, but it’s a LOT of stirring.

  1.  In a mixer, cream the sugar and butter together.
  2.  Add cocoa powder and mix until all are blended well.
  3.  Add in eggs, one at a time. Allow 2 minutes in between each egg.
  4.  Add melted Lindt Lindor truffles slowly while the mixer is on medium speed.
  5.  Turn off mixer and remove bowl.
  6.  Add whipped cream and fold in with spatula.
  7.  Spoon mixture to graham cracker crust and smooth out.
  8.  Refrigerate overnight (can be served after 3 hours in fridge, but is best overnight).
  9.  Enjoy with coffee.

The absolute kicker for this recipe is the Lindt Lindor Truffle amazingness. I never used to make this with
them added, but I finally decided to give it a try and OHMYGOODNESS I should have started a long time ago. They add a certain measure of richness that isn’t overpowering, but definitely adds a little somethin’ to the pie. YUM.

 

 

There you have it, enjoy! And please feel free to comment and let me know how your recipe turned out.

2 thoughts on “Recipe Corner: French Silk Pie

    • Rissa Berguson says:

      Andrew,

      Thank you for your comment! And don’t worry, I’m no fantastic baker, and this one was super easy even for me!

      For sure I’m on FB! My name is Rissa Berguson. I’ll head over to the group now and share.

      Thanks again!

Drop a Note

